Responsible Relator

I’m developing a grand tradition of posting my thoughts on a subject well after the event. This one will be a record, even for me…

Way back at the end of May (almost a month ago!) the good Mrs Carla Harding wrote on her experiences with Strengthsfinders. I’ve been meaning to put in a response to that post, because the Strengthsfinder test is one I found very helpful. Unfortunately, I lost my test results in the process of moving house, and I have only just this weekend found them again…

I guess the important thing to mention to start with, is that I have always hated personality tests. I’m not sure why it is, but I have always had a disproportionately strong reaction towards anything and anyone who tries to ‘box’ me or define me. I’ve always found it hard to understand how you could reduce the amazingly and infinitely complex variation of the human race into a few distinct ‘types’. And how could anyone know me from just asking a few either/or questions?

But about 18 months ago I was in a real period of searching as I looked towards ending my time working for City Gates, and a good friend of mine gave me a book which he thought would help me know myself and look towards the future with a bit more confidence. That book was “Now, Discover Your Strengths” and it is a portal into the world of Strenghsfinders and its test.

It took me a while to have a go, but when I did I was surprised by the results. Looking back on it now, I can really see how these categories show real aspects of my personality. More than that, seeing these categories defined has actually helped me understand myself and my responses better – it has been an all-round helpful experience.

My top-5 ‘strengths’ are:
Relator
People who are strong in the Relator theme enjoy close relationships with others. They find deep satisfaction in working hard with friends to achieve a goal.

Responsibility
People strong in the Responsibility theme take psychological ownership of what they say they will do. They are committed to stable values such as honesty and loyalty.

Strategic
People strong in the Strategic theme create alternative ways to proceed. Faced with any given scenario, they can quickly spot the relevant patterns and issues.

Intellection
People strong in the Intellection theme are characterized by their intellectual activity. They are introspective and appreciate intellectual discussions.

Belief
People strong in the Belief theme have certain core values that are unchanging. Out of these values emerges a defined purpose for their life.

[These are abbreviated versions from the gallup website. I don’t have time to manually transcribe the in-depth descriptions, but it gives you some idea. I may come back to this and add more detail another time…]

One thought on “Responsible Relator

Leave a Reply

