U2

At the start of his talk today, titled “PEACE” (I’m not sure what it was capitalised, but it was in the email I got on Monday), Steve played the track Peace on Earth” by U2.

It was really good to stop for a moment, at the start of a busy work day, and listen to something so inspiring. I am a musical person, and songs often have a deeper resonance for me than mere words can. This particular song has long been one that echoes my own internal groaning with regard to the conflict and suffering in our world. U2 seem to be particularly good at writing songs that do that.

In fact, they are so good at writing music that resounds with us at a spiritual as well as an emotional level that their songs are frequently used in church services. There is even such a thing as a u2charist, which was created by the Episcopal Church in the US. I think this is a genius idea, and one I’d love to experience in practice.

Has anyone reading been to one of these? What was your perspective on it?

One thought on “U2

  1. I’ve been to a few. 🙂

    And many thanks for your kind words. Just to be totally clear, the U2charist wasn’t created in any official way by the Episcopal Church in the U.S. I instigated the first U2charist and I happen to be Episcopalian, but the service has no official standing in the Episcopal Church, though as I’ve done it, it follows the Order for Eucharist set forth in our prayer book. Congregations in other denominations and non-denominational fellowships have also done U2charists, though, and they’ve done them according to their own forms and traditions — which is as it should be, in my opinion.

    I agree with you about how U2’s music resounds spiritually as well as emotionally and aesthetically. The whole idea of doing the U2charist came out of my experiences at U2 concerts of God’s presence and of feeling caught up in an inspirational (and perhaps even inspired) movement — and of hearing lots of others at U2 concerts saying the same thing. For me, it felt natural to say, “Well, what if we were intentional about gathering at Christ’s table as we envision and experience what it’s like “where the streets have no name,” so to speak.

    I hope you do get a chance to go to a U2charist — and please drop me a line to let me know how it was for you if you do. And please spread the word to anyone you know who’s hosting a service that if they’ve got prayers, playlists, sermons, wisdom, or anything else they’d like to share with others hosting U2charists, I’d love to hear about them and post them on the U2charist resources page.

    Blessings, and thanks again!

    Dylan

Leave a Reply

