Reflecting my mood

Him:

So this is how the story went

I met someone by accident

That blew me away

That blew me away

 

It was in the darkest of my days

When you took my sorrow and you took my pain

And buried them away, you buried them away

 

And I wish I could lay down beside you

When the day is done

And wake up to your face under the morning sun

But like everything I’ve ever known

I’m sure you’ll go one day

So I’ll spend my whole life hiding my heart away

And I can’t spend my whole life hiding my heart away

 

Her:         

I dropped you off at the train station

And put a kiss on top of your head

I watched you wave

I watched you wave

Then I went on home to my skyscrapers

Neon lights and waiting papers

That I call home

I call it home

 

And I wish I could lay down beside you

When the day is done

And wake up to your face against the morning sun

But like everything I’ve ever known

I’m sure you’ll go one day

So I’ll spend my whole life hiding my heart away

And I can’t spend my whole life hiding my heart away

 

Him:         

I woke up feeling heavy hearted

I’m going back to where I started

The morning rain

The morning rain

And you know I wish that you were here

But that same old road that brought me here

Is calling me home

Is calling me home

 

And I wish I could lay down beside you

When the day is done

And wake up to your face against the morning sun

But like everything I’ve ever known

You’ll disappear someday

So I’ll spend my whole life hiding my heart away

And I can’t spend my whole life hiding my heart away

 

[Brandi Carlile, Hiding my Heart Away, the bonus track to the brilliant album, The Story. The lyrics here aren’t quite right (and the voicing is mine), but they reflect my mood…]

Leave a Reply

